Ambleside Online Year 1: A Year in Review and Advice

Last month, I was able to write a guest post for Ambleside Online’s official blog, Archipelago,  detailing my family’s journey through Year 3. Today I am writing a similar post about our experience with Year 1.

You can click through here to read about about my experience teaching Year 1 for the second time and learn things like:

  • Which of the Year 1 books are the most challenging and which are the least challenging
  • How the AO advisory has wisely introduced European history (not just American history) in the early years
  • You shouldn’t necessarily fear the longer reads, like Parables of Nature and the fairy books
  • Tricks to make the bird book more interactive
  • Kids love poetry
  • A guilty list of twaddle my six year old has enjoyed
  • Which foreign language and math curriculum we use
  • The little “extra activities” that get us out of the house but still are in line with CM philosophy (hint: Cub Scouts and more!)

Until next week (or so).

I’m reading:

Novel:

Moderately challenging books:

Stiff books:

Diana

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Ambleside Online Year 1: A Year in Review and Advice

  1. I just found you via AO’s blog. Thank you so much for this review! I have three boys as well, but a little younger: 7 yrs, 5 yrs, and a baby. We started AO the second half of this year, so I will be finishing up Year 1 this fall/winter and then moving into Year 2 maybe next Spring. I hope you write a Y2 review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

