“The New Year” Poem

Here’s the latest poem we are working to memorize in our Circle / Morning time.

the-new-year-a-poem

001

I was really drawn to this poem because it’s so short. After the holidays, we are burning the clutch (that’s a bad manual transmission joke) getting started back into school habits. On the one hand, we acquired a new desk and (a bunk bed) last week, but on the other hand I somehow had to move every piece of furniture in my house to accommodate the new pieces, which turned into de-cluttering, wiping baseboards, and reorganizing bookshelves. I’m an INTP on the Myers-Briggs scale, and we INTPs are famous for either having lots of clutter or going into full sterilization mode. I guess my cleaning switch got flipped last week.

Anyway, I settled on this little gem of a poem by Dina Maria Mulock Craik (I’ve seen her first name spelled “Dinah” as well), who was a 19th century English poet and novelist. The poem ties in nicely with the whole cultural personification of Baby New Year, which I guess has been a thing since at least 1908 when he/she was on the cover of the Saturday Evening Post.

babynewyear

I really ought to be grading my papers for the class I’m teaching at co op (tomorrow) and not blogging. INTPs are also known for our phenomenal procrastination skills — it’s deadline or bust for us Introverted/Intuitive/Thinking/Perceiving types.

Yes, welcome to the “wonderful glad New Year” and sayonara to Christmas break with it’s lovely stay-hominess. We’re back to co-op, choir, swim class, theatre attendance (no child is performing this semester – yea for no rehearsals!), study groups, book celebration club, Wild & Free hiking club, Cub Scouts, and all those other activities that sandblast me out of the house on a weekly basis. My hibernation is over. Now, give me some spring! I’ve got my countdown going … 69, 68, 67, 66 …

Leave a Reply

